Not open for further replies.

Papa Tango

I See Things...
Publisher
Post Score
Piano Guts (Arpeggio)
Nikon D7100; Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro(OS) HSM|C

arpeggio.jpg

I always wondered about that lens(Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4). I used it for years, but now I can barely hear the OS. Not sure if it's working ? I'm thinking about replacing it with the Contemporary model which is newer and I heard is sharper.

Ah, the 'humble' pineapple. It was not until I studied architectural history that I learned how valuable these things once were--and why they are commonly seen as finials and other decorative elements: :unsure:

I always wondered about that lens(Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4). I used it for years, but now I can barely hear the OS. Not sure if it's working ? I'm thinking about replacing it with the Contemporary model which is newer and I heard is sharper.
I bought this lens in 2015, and a Sigma fisheye. They were expensive new, but I was making big money back then so it did not matter and I was willing to pay for the prestige of the hype that surrounded Sigma at the time... Both were the Contemporary series (APS-C), as the Art is strictly for full-frame. They are actually the better lenses. :unsure:

Being the fool who always needs to find any sort of useless accessory for something new and buy it, I also got the USB docking hub to make fine adjustments and update lens firmware.

It never dawned on me why the ability was provided by the manufacturer to make those adjustments. o_O

The Sigma were OK lenses. Not for fast-moving subjects at events or crowds. I printed a target and then did an extensive calibration on them but was never really satisfied with the autofocus behavior. Too much searching and too many false focus points. After a year, I sold both and bought Nikkor glass.