Fuji and RAW/RAF Processing

Papa Tango

I See Things...
Pioneer
Post Score
As a new convert to the Fuji universe, I am still working through how to best take RAF image files from camera to print. I ran across this video, and would appreciate the input of those who have found a good workflow!

I've been shooting with Fuji X cameras since 2013 (not exclusively) and I use Lightroom. I was drawn into worrying about Lightrooms problems with X trans files and the problems with worms!, as I couldn't see the worms I stopped worrying. There are so many other ways I can ****up a potential photo, the software issue is for me not an issue. I no longer do any printing so that's one less thing to concern me.

Yes, the infamous worms!

1690827584380.png

I have never been a true pixel peeper, but an image has to look as sharp (or not so sharp) as I see it in my head--and be able to print accordingly. I did not find noise and artifacts to be a significant issue with my Nikon D7100 unless shooting at higher ISO numbers--yet I wanted more detail and printable size, but not with bugs...

It was a real voyage to the land of Fuji. Loved the images I saw, how the camera body was configured--and best of all with a Fringer adapter could use the entire stable of Nikkor DX lenses I already owned. My own folly for not researching what was necessary in post to achieve those great photos I saw... :eek:

The trouble I soon discovered is the proprietary method that Fuji uses with the X-Trans sensor and the creation of RAF files. It is surprising that in an Adobe workflow (RAW converter + Photoshop) versus image import, simple JPG's appeared crisper and with better contrast and saturation than processed RAF's as a PSD. From that format, I have always created JPG/PNG files for digital display and the PSD for printing. I have never liked Lightroom due to the XMP sidecar files. God help you if that file is lost, or one decides to move both files to another folder.